Friday, June 24, 2011

And Now There Are Seven!

The bill to legalize same-sex marriage was approved Friday night by the New York State Senate and signed into law by the heroic Governor, Andrew Cuomo.  As a result, the number of people who are guaranteed equal justice under the law with regard to marriage has just doubled.  New York joins six other jurisdictions, Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, and the District of Columbia, that recognize same-sex marriage. 

Joe Solmonese, President of the Human Rights Campaign said:  "History was made today in New York. This victory sends a message that marriage equality across the country will be a reality very soon."  Indeed, as Greg Sargent put it, hopefully "tonight’s events will hasten the arrival of a future moment in which this national dispute — which seems jarringly ridiculous even today — is studied by students from elementary school on up as a historical relic, as a long-settled skirmish in the larger, ongoing battle to ensure that our government, and our society at large, treat all Americans as deserving of full equality."


Post a Comment